Fortunately, Unfortunately

This game is great for developing quick-thinking and storytelling skills.

Edition 19

This edition has a sponsor at the bottom. It brings me SO much joy to see the growth of this newsletter - so much growth that having sponsors is possible 🤯

None of my projects over the years have grown this quickly. Let’s keep the momentum going.

At work, we constantly face new challenges.

Some challenges are within our control.

Many are not.

My coworkers often hear me say, “it’s not our fault, but it is our problem.“

This game helps you think creatively about how to solve issues and consider all circumstances that can arise. This game is great for developing quick-thinking and storytelling skills.

Goal

  • Creatively solve problems

How to Play

  1. Players stand in a circle

    Note: most improv games start this way. While you could play many of these seated, standing incorporates more energy.

  2. One person starts with an “I want” statement

  3. The rest of the players go in a circle and take turns making ‘Fortunately’ and ‘Unfortunately’ statements

Example

Player 1: I want a salad for dinner

Player 2: Fortunately, I have a ton of lettuce in my fridge

Player 3: Unfortunately, the power went out last night and all the food in my fridge went bad

Player 4: Fortunately, my neighbor’s garden is full of fresh lettuce

Player 5: Unfortunately, my neighbor is really against the idea of me stealing from him

Keep going around the circle until you get back to the first person who started (or you can go as long as you want)

Appropriate for

Friends & Family

Colleagues

Strangers

🕰️ Time to play

5-10 minutes (including explanation)

👨‍👩‍👦 Group size

Best for: 4 to 10 people

Just like work…

All businesses will face unexpected problems — stay on your toes! Games like this help you think outside the box.

Peaceful weekend,

Tyler

Now a word from our sponsor (!!)

Daily News for Curious Minds

“I stopped watching the news, so sick of the bias. Was searching for an alternative that would just tell me WHAT happened, with NO editorializing. I found it. It’s called 1440. It assumes you are smart enough to form your own opinions.”

What'd you think of this email?

You can add more feedback after choosing an option 👇🏽

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.