The most fun improv warm-up I've ever done

you like rhyming games?

I did a *new* game with my improv troupe last week.

It was the first time I had heard of this game, and it was possibly the most fun warm-up I have ever done.

Goal

  • Group mind: Fosters teamwork and communication skills

  • Creativity: Players must think on their feet to craft descriptions of words

Rules

  1. Players stand in a circle. Someone begins by saying:

    • “I am thinking of a word that rhymes with [insert word that rhymes]”

  2. Each player takes turns guessing a word by describing their guess instead of saying it.

Example

Let’s say Player One thinks of the word ‘bear’ to begin.

  1. Player One: “I am thinking of a word that rhymes with flare.”

  2. Any Player: “Is it one of those places where you ride a ferris wheel and eat fried dough?”

  3. Player One: “No, it’s not a fair.“

  4. Any Player: “Is it something you do instead of telling the truth?”

  5. Player One: “No, it’s not a dare.“

  6. Any Player: “Is it something I sit on?”

  7. Player One: “No, it’s not a chair.“

  8. Any Player: “Is it the antagonist from the 2005 Documentary: Grizzly Man?”

  9. Player One: “YES, it is a bear.“

Appropriate for

Friends & Family

Colleagues

Strangers

🕰️ Time to play

10-15 minutes (including explanation)

👨‍👩‍👦 Group size

Best for: 3 to 10 people

Use Cases 🎉 

  • Liven up the pre-game or party

  • Bring up the energy when your team is in-office

  • Family picnic

If you try out this game, I want to know! Reply to this email and let me know how it goes.

Enjoy a lovely weekend,

Tyler

What'd you think of this email?

You can add more feedback after choosing an option 👇🏽

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.