Starting a Company in Three Easy Steps

I am launching a new product via kickstarter campaign

Starting a Company in Three Easy Steps

1. Do something uncomfortable

The summer before my senior year at Northeastern University, I went to an open improv comedy jam hosted by the campus troupe ‘No Jokes.’

I was horrified.

What I did know: They seemed to be having so much performing fun in the show I stumbled into.

What I didn’t know: I was about to meet people who would become my closest friends.

I performed 15+ shows across multiple universities in Boston. After shows, I would see my less-theatre-inclined friends who all wanted to play the game we closed every show with: Sex with me is like’.

2. Ruminate on a small detail for multiple years

I graduated and continued pursuing improv at Improv Asylum in the North End of Boston. My Level 1 class included a spectrum of folks from a 16-year-old actor to a 60-year-old engineering manager. This was possibly the most interdisciplinary room I had ever been in — and we were in a run-down classroom above a dentist’s office on Hanover Street in the North End. How did I make it 20 years and not know about this comedic outlet?

Improv has had a profound effect on my life. I use it daily in social, work, and theatrical settings. It built up my skills in teamwork, collaboration, listening, communication, and adapting to your s

I always wondered how to share this with others. One day the solution became evident.

3. Convince yourself to make a vulgar card game in the name of community

I believe there are tons more people out there like me — people who may not be ‘theatre-inclined’ BUT if they were to try improv, they’d be hooked.

I’ve personally noticed a huge uptick in niche card-games such as ‘We’re Not Really Strangers’. One reason I LOVE these games is because they get people to stop asking each other what they do for work. The vulnerability associated with diving a bit deeper is what turns acquaintances into friends.

Could I combine 1) people’s interest in comedy with 2) barrier-breaking card games all in an effort to turn your acquaintances into real friends? Possibly! All I would need is a factory and a background in crowdfunding and e-commerce. Thankfully that is my exact background. Add in my insatiable desire to buy domain names, and we’ve got sexwithmeislike.com 

Coming soon to a board game bar (& Kickstarter) near you…