Go before you are ready ๐ŸŸข

When should you take a leap?

AI-generated stage + cubicle

Comedy theatres host the most diverse classrooms I have ever seen. They cater to a broad audience and classes are typically once per week, for 8 weeks (8 classes). It is a fantastic crash course, but it doesnโ€™t offer much time for deep learning.

I am lucky I had the chance to take an improv class in college. This meant class was 3x/week over a 3.5-month semester (40+ classes, with holidays).

Jesse Hinson, an accomplished actor and great improvisation teacher, was my professor. It was one of the best classes I took in college. One lesson he shared 5+ years ago comes to mind daily:

Go before you are ready.

Imagine a college improv class comprised of business and engineering students. We were not a particularly theatrical group and many of us would hesitate to jump in the mix. We were overthinking.

Improv is a team sport. Donโ€™t wait on the sideline leaving your teammates high and dry.

In improv, and in life, you must leap.

There is never a โ€˜rightโ€™ or โ€˜perfectโ€™ time to:

  • Edit an improv scene

  • Take on a special project at work

  • Move to a new city

  • Write a book

  • Try a new recipe

  • Start a company

The list goes on. I tracked down a few quotes that exemplify this.

"The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing."

Walt Disney

"The stars will never align, and the traffic lights of life will never all be green at the same time. The universe doesn't conspire against you, but it doesn't go out of its way to line up the pins either. Conditions are never perfect. 'Someday' is a disease that will take your dreams to the grave with you."

Tim Ferriss, American entrepreneur, investor

Homework: The next time you hear yourself saying โ€˜I will do [x] once I am ready;โ€™ take a beat and seek action. What is first step you can do in that moment?

NOTE: I do not recommend this thought process for folks in the medical field. If I was getting surgery, and the doctor said they didnโ€™t feel ready, I would not say โ€˜grab your scalpel and give it your best shot!โ€™

I would instead thank them for their candor and ask for another doctor.

As always โ€” reply with thoughts, questions, and feedback! I want to hear from you ๐Ÿ˜€ 
Tyler